My Kind of Night (part 1) – At the Empy

Let me tell you something about myself that is outside my football fan status, specifically my work. I promise, this will still be related to football, and is not just an excuse to talk/brag about the work that I do.

I am the Producer of the hit podcast, and the #1 iTunes show in the Philippines, Good Times with Mo: the Podcast, hosted by DJ Mo Twister who is currently in Hollywood, CA. Mo is joined by a resident doctor or New Media Factory (the network which broadcasts the show) owner and Wolfgang frontman Basti Artadi, and a different celebrity guest every night. The show is basically a love, sex, and relationship advice program where people call in to ask Mo, the doctor, and the celebrity guest about solutions to their problems. It’s two hours of crazy, no-holds-barred fun, which allows celebrities to be their true (cursing and sometimes, outrageously wild,) selves, while trying to help people by giving no-bullshit advice. We are currently on our second season, at almost 200 shows, and over a hundred celebrity guests, and 20 million downloads (just in the first season) to boast of.

We’ve had all kinds of celebrities on the show— from the typical local artista to international stars, to even athletes of different sports (PBA and Major League Baseball). Curiously, however,we’ve never guested a football player in the two seasons we’ve been on air. Maybe partly because Mo doesn’t really follow the sport, or that they’re almost impossible to book.

I’ve never really been starstruck with all the celebrities that I’ve met. Sure there were some I’m truly honored to have been introduced to, or even just be in the same room as them (like Pia Cayetano, Martin Nievera, etc.), but only three people have kept me in this state of being genuinely starstruck (the interns can attest to this)— Mo, Bamboo, and last night’s guest, Chieffy Caligdong.

Before I go into the details of Chieffy’s guesting, let me first share with you the first part of my night. Before the show, I went to the newly-constructed Emperador Stadium, lovingly called The Empy by fans, to watch my first UFL game of the year. I know I’ve been too busy with work that I feel like I’ve neglected my football, so I thought I should start the football theme of the night early. 

IMG_20130227_090138

I’m so glad I went. Despite the limited seating available for fans, I loved everything else about the pitch. Its proximity to the bleachers made fans feel so much closer to the action— so close that there were times I was afraid the ball would hit me right smack in the face. Never mind that it was such a long walk from the McKinley jeepney stop. The joys of watching the game live definitely outweighed the exhaustion of walking that far, with my heavy laptop in tow. Haaaay, I just wish I had more football friends to watch with.

A sure signal my day was about to get better was when OJ Porteria, whom I consider to be one of my, if not most, favorite Azkals, sat right next to me. He, along with Kaya FC’s Masa Omura, talked to the kids of a certain foundation that were seated around me. I swear he must’ve thought I was this weird girl who couldn’t stop smiling to herself the whole time he was there. Buti na lang, nag-pabango ako.

Global dealt a harsh 6-nil battering to Army, after goals by Ben Starosta, Misagh Bahadoran, Jeffrey Christaeans, Matthew Uy, and Marvin Angeles. The club came out with guns ablaze, and finished the game still looking hungry for even more goals.

After the game, I rushed to get to the studio, as other VIPs aside from Chieffy were coming.

(to be continued)

Leave a Reply

